How do I become a firefighter in Miami?

Requirements

  1. Meet all qualifications in the Florida State Statute Number 633.34, ” Firefighters; qualifications for employment”
  2. Successful completion of the Candidate Physical Ability Test.
  3. Possess and maintain State of Florida Certification for firefighter and emergency medical technician or paramedic.

How do I apply for the Fire Department in Miami Dade?

Applicants must apply and submit application online by Sunday, June 24, 2018, 11:59 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time, at www. miamidade.gov/jobs. person’s who possessa current State of Florida Firefighter II certificate, State of Florida EMT certification or State of Florida Paramedic (EMT-P).

How do I become a firefighter in Florida?

General Requirements Aspiring firefighters must be at least 18 years old, must possess a valid State of Florida driver’s license, current CPR/ACLS certification, and able to pass a physical examination designed to test their suitability for working in this physically demanding fields.

How many fire stations does Miami Dade have?

We have 71 fire-rescue stations within unincorporated Miami-Dade County and serve 29 municipalities.

Is it hard to get hired as a firefighter?

It is usually very difficult to become a firefighter. There is usually a lot of competition for each vacant position. Although there are usually only a few basic requirements to apply for a firefighter job, those that are hired frequently have a lot more training, education, and experience than required.

You might be interested:  FAQ: What Is The Fire Department Code For A House Fire?

Do firefighters get paid well?

The average salary for a firefighter in California is around $74,700 per year.

How do I start a career as a firefighter?

Becoming a firefighter: 10 must-do things

  1. Become an EMT.
  2. Volunteer your time.
  3. Take fire technology classes.
  4. Maintain a clean background and lifestyle.
  5. Understand all of the phases of the firefighter hiring process.
  6. Start taking firefighter tests.
  7. Stop by fire stations.
  8. Get some life experience.

How long is the Florida Fire Academy?

Fire Academy schedule and length The Fire Academy consists of 492 hours of training and is offered as a full-time and part-time schedule.

What is the maximum age to become a firefighter in Florida?

Officially, there is no maximum age to become a firefighter. You could become a firefighter at the age of 60 if a fire department was willing to hire you.

Can firefighters have tattoos in Florida?

So, can firefighters have tattoos? Yes, firefighters can have tattoos, but depending on your department rules you may have to keep them covered while on duty.

What is the highest paying state for firefighters?

Table 1. Highest-paying States for Firefighters (2020 Survey)

Rank State Average Salary i
1 New Jersey $89,350
2 California $79,810
3 Washington $78,950
4 New York $77,830

48 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *