What is the goal of fire department safety and health programs?

It should be the goal of the department to reduce the likelihood of injury through a comprehensive health and safety program. 5.1. 1 The fire department shall establish and maintain a training, education, and professional development program with a goal of preventing occupational deaths, injuries, and illnesses.

What must a fire department’s health and safety program address quizlet?

Which of the following must a fire department’s safety and health program address? All anticipated hazards to which members may be exposed. When driving a fire apparatus, driver/operators should remember safe driving begins: before leaving the station.

Which is one of the main goals of firefighting?

A firefighter’s goals are to save lives, protect property, and protect the environment.

You might be interested:  Question: How To Get Certified To Operate A Radio In A Volunteer Fire Department?

Which NFPA standard defines safe training practices and program?

NFPA 1500 specifies the minimum requirements for an occupational safety and health program for fire departments or organizations that provide rescue, fire suppression, emergency medical services, hazardous materials mitigation, special operations, and other emergency services.

What are the components of a fire department safety and health plan?


  • Organization/policy,
  • Risk management,
  • Roles and responsibilities,
  • Accident prevention and investigation,
  • Health and safety officer functions (NFPA 1521),
  • Occupational safety and health committee,
  • Training and education,
  • Records management and data analysis,

What are the three Ifsta principles of risk management?

You areby, 1) Aware of causes of injury/death 2) Know safety standards 3) Minimize risk

  • Aware of causes of injury/death.
  • Know safety standards.
  • Minimize risk. Term.

What is the most common type of fire department organizational structure?

Municipalities are the most common jurisdiction for fire departments. Whether career, volunteer, or combination, this type of organization operates under the authority of the local government, and receives funding and oversight from that body.

Which types of SCBA air cylinders are tested every five years?

Frequency of Requalification and Cylinder Service Life Steel and aluminum SCBA cylinders that are DOT specification cylinders are marked as “3AA” for steel and “3AL” for aluminum. For these cylinders, the DOT requires requalification every five years.

What is the primary duty of Firefighter 1 level personnel?

respond to emergency calls, lay and connect hose, hold nozzles and direct water stream, raise and climb ladders, use extinguishers and other equipment. Extensive knowledge of the operation of all apparatus, equipment and methods used in combating, extinguishing and preventing fires and in rescue work.

You might be interested:  Question: Nyc Fire Department Administrative Code Vilation Where To Appear?

What are the 4 types of fire?

Classes of fire

  • Class A – fires involving solid materials such as wood, paper or textiles.
  • Class B – fires involving flammable liquids such as petrol, diesel or oils.
  • Class C – fires involving gases.
  • Class D – fires involving metals.
  • Class E – fires involving live electrical apparatus. (

What are the 3 methods of extinguishing a fire?

All fires can be extinguished by cooling, smothering, starving or by interrupting the combustion process to extinguish the fire. One of the most common methods of extinguishing a fire is by cooling with water.

What are the fire fighting techniques?

Fire Fighting Techniques

  • Indirect attack. Aimed at the ceiling, the water drops down and extinguishes the fire from above.
  • Direct attack. Perhaps the most widely known technique – this suffocates the flames as the water is aimed at the base of the fire.
  • Combination attack.
  • The ‘two lines in’ method.

What is OSHA standard?

Occupational Safety and Health Administration ( OSHA ) standards are rules that describe the methods that employers must use to protect their employees from hazards. Employers must also comply with the General Duty Clause of the OSH Act, which requires employers to keep their workplace free of serious recognized hazards.

What are the NFPA codes?

NFPA publishes more than 300 consensus codes and standards intended to minimize the possibility and effects of fire and other risks. NFPA codes and standards, administered by more than 250 Technical Committees comprising approximately 8,000 volunteers, are adopted and used throughout the world.

Is NFPA 70 the same as NEC?

The National Electrical Code ( NEC ), or NFPA 70, is a regionally adoptable standard for the safe installation of electrical wiring and equipment in the United States. It is part of the National Fire Code series published by the National Fire Protection Association ( NFPA ), a private trade association.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *