- 1 Where can I get a car seat checked near me?
- 2 Do firefighters help with car seats?
- 3 Does AAA check carseats?
- 4 How old do you have to be to sit in the front seat in Alaska?
- 5 Is it safe for a 10 year old to ride in the front seat?
- 6 How much does a child have to weigh to face forward?
- 7 How do you get a free car seat from the fire department?
- 8 Does Buy Buy Baby install carseats?
- 9 Which side should a car seat be on?
- 10 Do you have to get a car seat fitted?
- 11 How do I get a certified car seat technician?
- 12 Do insurance companies have to replace car seats?
- 13 Is it illegal to smoke in a car with a child in Alaska?
- 14 What is the car seat law in Alaska?
- 15 Does Alaska have a seatbelt law?
Where can I get a car seat checked near me?
Inspection stations are frequently located at local automobile dealerships, police stations, fire houses, hospitals, and many more places. To find an inspection station in your area, please visit the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) Web site: http://www.nhtsa.dot.gov/cps/cpsfitting/index.cfm.
Do firefighters help with car seats?
Not every firefighter, police officer or nurse is a certified child passenger safety technician (aka car seat tech). At that time it was still common for fire departments to offer the service of inspecting people’s car seats and helping them install the car seat correctly.
Does AAA check carseats?
AAA offers FREE car seat inspections by appointment with specific action items to make your children safer right away at safeseats4kids. aaa.com.
How old do you have to be to sit in the front seat in Alaska?
Alaska law does not prohibit or address the age at which the child can ride in the front. The use of the back seat for children under age 13 is a recommendation from NHTSA, the American Academy of pediatrics, and the automobile manufacturers.
Is it safe for a 10 year old to ride in the front seat?
It is safest — and best practice — for children not sit in the front seat until they are 13 years old. The Centers for Disease Control, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration and, most likely, even your air bag and car manufacturer recommend keeping children under age 13 in the back seat.
How much does a child have to weigh to face forward?
While 1 year and 20 pounds used to be the standard for when to flip car seats around, most experts now recommend using rear-facing child seats until children are 2 years old and reach the top weight and height recommendations of the car seat manufacturer, which is typically around 30 pounds and 36 inches.
How do you get a free car seat from the fire department?
You can fill out this registration form, and a representative of the fire department will contact you with the availability and schedule. You have to be on government assistance to get a free car seat, but even if you aren’t, you can still get a car seat for $25.
Does Buy Buy Baby install carseats?
Let our experts come to the rescue with our cleaning and safety super powers! Every Saturday from 10am to 4pm, Tot Squad is at buybuy BABY Torrance and Mission Viejo offering car seat installations and baby gear cleaning at amazing savings: Get 20% off a service with your $75 same-day, in-store purchase.
Which side should a car seat be on?
Place the car seat in the backseat. The safest spot for your baby is always in the backseat — preferably in the middle spot, away from passenger- side air bags. If your car doesn’t fit a car seat securely there, place the seat on either side of the backseat (or, if you drive an SUV, in the second row).
Do you have to get a car seat fitted?
In New South Wales, children under one year must use a child car seat in a taxi. In most states and territories, the laws that apply to private cars apply to rideshare services. This means all children under seven years of age must be seated in a child car seat.
How do I get a certified car seat technician?
Here are three ways to find nationally certified child passenger safety technicians near you.
- Attend a safety event sponsored by a Safe Kids Coalition in your area.
- Find child passenger safety technicians in your area through the National CPS Certification Program.
Do insurance companies have to replace car seats?
Most insurance companies will replace your car seat in a crash without question. They don’t require you to buy the same seat. For instance, if your child was about to outgrow an infant seat, the insurance company will allow you to buy a convertible in its place.
Is it illegal to smoke in a car with a child in Alaska?
Is it Illegal to Smoke in a Car with a Child in Alaska? According to Alaska Admin. Code 10.1085, any vehicle that is being used for transporting children should be smoke -free.
What is the car seat law in Alaska?
Alaska Law requires children over 4 years and less than 8 years of age who are under 4’9″ or less than 65 pounds to be properly secured in a car seat or booster seat. Keep your child in a booster seat until they are big enough to sit in a seat belt properly.
Does Alaska have a seatbelt law?
SAFETY BELT USE IS REQUIRED BY LAW Alaska law AS 28.05. 095 requires everyone in a motor vehicle to use a safety belt. Drivers must wear a safety belt. The driver is also responsible for all passengers under the age of 16 years.